[Video] R.I.P. Ray Manzarek of The Doors!

R I P Ray Manzarek

Ray Manzarek, a founding member of 1960s rock group The Doors, has died at the age of 74.

The keyboard player died in Rosenheim, Germany, with his family at his bedside following a battle with bile duct cancer.

He and singer Jim Morrison formed The Doors in 1965 after a chance meeting at Venice Beach in Los Angeles.

The Doors’ original line-up, which also included drummer John Densmore and guitarist Robbie Krieger, was only together for a few years and made just six studio albums.

But the band retained a large and obsessive following long after Morrison’s death, aged 27, in 1971 of a suspected heart attack.

They sold more than 100 million records, with songs such as Light My Fire and Riders On the Storm still considered “classic” rock favourites.

Here is one of our Favourite tracks by The Doors.

One comment on “[Video] R.I.P. Ray Manzarek of The Doors!

  1. Ray’s keyboards were a staple of The Doors. He’ll certainly be missed after such a long and fruitful career helping to create such haunting music. The Doors’ songs opened my mind to other realms of possibilities and cleansed my perception. I paid tribute to Ray when I heard of his passing by creating a new portrait of him and some melting doors which you can see on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2013/05/in-memoriam-ray-manzarek.html Drop by and let me know how The Doors influenced you too.

Leave a Reply

